November Art Crawl & Upcoming @ Monkey Hill

Image

MONKEY HILL CREATIVE ARTS NOVEMBER 2012

The song says it can be sad to see October go, but not if you’re me. Not this year. First, October laid me out flat with a terrible head and chest cold, like most of Hamilton, and then it sent me scrambling non-stop to catch-up. Yes, the cold blue skies were beautiful, but….ohhhh. November was a welcome sight!

The November Art Crawl was wonderful! I met an abundance of interesting and friendly people, as always. I’m delighted to be back in the gallery business. I’ve missed the crowds more than anything else. Besides promoting the work of my fellow artists, Monkey Hill promotes the awareness of invisible and intellectual disabilities, but there are so many gallery-goers with their own unique awareness and experiences of varied life circumstances shared openly that I’m not sure if we’re doing more giving or receiving, but whatever the case, with each week we’re open we have more and more to pass on to others through Monkey Hill. What a gift.

After being in the business of art for 20 years I have become accustomed to parting with my work with ease, but every now and again there is a piece that I give me some pang to relinquish. One of the pieces sold this crawl was one of those pieces special to me. Happily, it was purchased by a gentleman who seemed to truly appreciate all aspects of “Mixed State” beyond merely the aesthetic value.

Image

MIXED STATE

A “mixed state”, a mental condition part of bipolar disorder, is a state wherein a person experiences mixed feelings of both mania or hypomania and deep depression. Those of us thus afflicted merely refer to it as Hell. Those living with us thus afflicted refer to it similarly. After showing this piece once before, briefly, and describing what a “mixed state” is, 99% self-identified as ‘occasionally bipolar’ and unanimously voted to rename Monday “Mixed State Day”.

Now that Monkey Hill has ‘found its feet’, I’m enjoying a more balanced schedule between my artwork and gallery management. *big exhale*  Right now I’m having a good time planning a regular weekend afternoon poetry and author/book reading series beginning in January. 

For views of some of the art currently showing at Monkey Hill check out are main website at www.worthworks.com

And don’t forget! Monkey Hill rents gallery space to artist for $100 / 6ft of space, no commission, hung salon style, so you’ll hang lots of art in that space. Contact me at monkeyhillarts@yahoo.ca or 905-929-8380 if interested. Booking now for January onward.

Kirsten Hill

Monkey Hill Creative Arts

243 James St. North

Hamilton

 

 

 

About monkeyhill.biz

What interests me most, and has become my full-time occupation, is becoming the most human being possible to the best of my ability. Creating art, enjoying the art and company of my fellow artists, good music, and fabulous food inspires and eases mind and spirit; it is both a boon and balm. Creativity itself is Optimism. "Every one of us has more abilities than disabilities." ~ Stephanie K. Hansen

Leave a Reply

